Catalog Record: The history of the world, in five books | HathiTrust Digital Library

Available Indexes

The history of the world, in five books.
The first intreating of the beginning and first ages of the same, from the creation unto Abraham. The second, of the times from the birth of Abraham to the destruction of the Temple of Solomon. The third, from the destruction of Jerusalem to the time of Philip of Macedon. The fourth, from the reign of Philip of Macedon, to the establishing of that kingdom in the race of Macedon, to the establishing of that kingdom in the race of Antigonus. The fifth, from the settled rule of Alexander's successors in the East, until the Romans (prevailing over all) made conquest of Asia and Macedon. By Sir Walter Raleigh knight. Whereunto is added in this edition, The life and tryal of the author.


Main Author: Raleigh, Walter, Sir, 1552?-1618.
Language(s): English
Published: London, Printed for T. Basset [etc.] 1687.
Subjects: History, Ancient.
Note: "AS originally designed the work was to fill three volumes, and the published volume, consisting of five books is called the first part. But Raleighrelinquished his task without doing more than amass a few notes for a continuation."--Dict of nat. biog.
The "Life and tryal of the author" by John Shirley, has special t.-p.
Physical Description: 2 p. l., xxxii, [24] p., l 1., 41, 813 [44] p. front. (port.) maps, tab. 38 cm.
Locate a Print Version: Find in a library


Item Link Original Source
Full view The Ohio State University
View HathiTrust MARC record